A List of States With a Health Insurance Requirement and Fee for 2019

Although the fee for not having health insurance was reduced to $0 on a federal level starting 2019, some states still have an individual mandate for 2019 forward. Here is a list of states where you have to buy health insurance.

States that have their own mandate include: the District of Columbia, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and Vermont (starting 2020).

States considering a mandate for the future: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Minnesota Rhode Island, and Washington.

NOTE: State mandates are subject to change and states are subject to unique rules, please make sure you understand your responsibilities as a taxpayer before choosing to enroll or not.

FACT: The list for 2020 is mostly the same (although again, this is subject to change).