The Individual Mandate’s fee has been reduced to $0 at a federal level starting in 2019. However, some states are implementing their own individual mandate starting in 2019.[1]

This means in some states you may owe a fee on your state taxes for not having coverage.

This means you must check your state’s rules before you go without signing up for coverage during open enrollment.

Learn more about the individual mandate.

See a list of states with their own mandate.

NOTE: State mandates are subject to change, please make sure you understand your responsibilities as a tax payer before choosing to enroll or not.


  1. 4 States Are Restoring the Individual Mandate to Buy Health Insurance.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Laura Ray on

I think it’s a terrible thing, and I do not want to pay for someonelse’s health insurance; and why should I?

Lawrence E Cecil on

I am a retired veteran and have health care coverage through Veterans Administration. However, there are a number of veterans who have not considered this for there own life. Health Care and Insurance trends reveal insurance premiums, co-pays/out of pocket costs are increasing, while the specific coverages for procedures with most private insurance policies are being reduced or eliminated altogether yearly. Additionally, with the IRS holding the financial gun to your head, retirees or displaced workers are at risk. Retirees typically live on fixed incomes, and displaced workers have no employer insurance programs. Therefore, for veterans, the best solution would seem to be to file for VA Benefits to provide their primary care services. It’s a benefit they earned and although there are some bad out there with VA, there is also some good. Filing is also a good way to leverage the strength of one organization against the predatory practices of the IRS, Government and Lobbyists in Washington D.C.