This page features a 2022 ObamaCare eligibility chart, the 2021 federal poverty level used for 2022 subsidies, and a subsidy calculator.

ObamaCare Cost Assistance

To get assistance under the Affordable Care Act you must earn between 100% – 400% of the poverty level. For 2021, that is $12,760-$51,040 for an individual and $26,200- $104,800 for a family of four.

The types of assistance offered under the Affordable Care Act are:

Each assistance type has different eligibility requirements based on income as a percentage of the federal poverty level.

Obamacare Eligibility Chart

The following is a 2022 ObamaCare eligibility chart.

Types of Cost Assistance For 2021 Individual Annual Income Family of Four Annual Income
Medicaid health coverage (if your state decides to offer it) Up to $17,775 Up to $36.570
Help to pay your premium (if you buy in your state’s online marketplace) Between $12,880-$51,520 Between $26,500- $106,000
Subsidies for out-of-pocket costs (if you buy a Silver plan in your state’s online marketplace) Between $12,880- $32,200 Between $26,500- $66,250

NOTE: The Medicaid/CHIP amounts above apply in 2021 and early 2022. 2022 Medicaid and CHIP eligibility will be based on the 2021 guidelines as soon as they are published in the federal register in early 2021.

TIP: Want to find out what you can save quickly, check out our Subsidy Calculator below.

The 2021 Federal Poverty Guidelines (for 2022 Cost assistance and 2021 Medicaid/CHIP)

Below are the 2021 Federal Poverty Guidelines that went into effect in early 2021 (the ones you use for 2021 Medicaid/CHIP and for 2022 marketplace cost assistance).[1]

These guidelines are the key to all cost assistance under the Affordable Care Act. Specifically, these guidelines are used for:

  • Medicaid/CHIP between late Jan 2021 – Jan 2022 after the poverty level guidelines are published.
  • 2022 marketplace cost assistance on all marketplace health plans held in 2022 and purchased during open enrollment for 2022 (which runs from November 1, 2021, to December 15, 2021, and which uses the 2021 levels).
  • For special enrollment in 2021.
  • For ACA taxes for the 2021 calendar year filed in 2022.

NOTE: Our federal poverty guideline list has the 100% poverty level, 138% Medicaid expansion threshold, the 250% CSR subsidy threshold, and the 400% premium tax credit thresholds so you can at a glance see what assistance you qualify for. Please note that for Medicaid Expansion if you make under 138% you qualify, for CSR it is between 100% – 250%, and for tax credits it is between 100% and 400%. See details on subsidies under the ACA.

TIP: For mobile and smaller screen sizes, drag the table below to scroll and see the different poverty levels.

Persons in Family/Household 100% FPL: Minimum to Qualify for ACA Assistance 138% FPL: Medicaid Cap (in States that Expanded) 250% FPL: CSR Subsidies Cap 400% FPL: Premium Tax Credit Cap
1 $12,880 $17,775 $32,200 $51,520
2 $17,420 $24,040 $43,550 $69,680
3 $21,960 $30,305 $54,900 $87,840
4 $26,500 $36.570 $66,250 $106,000
5 $31,040 $42,836 $77,600 $124,160
6 $35,580 $49,101 $88,950 $142,320
7 $40,120 $55,366 $100,300 $160,480
8 $44,660 $61,631 $111,650 $178,640
For families/households with more than 8 persons, add $4,480 for each additional person.

NOTE: Alaska and Hawaii use different guidelines (see this link to guidelines as published in the Federal Register).

FACT: The Federal Register notice for the 2021 Poverty Guidelines was published on February 1st, 2021.

2021 ObamaCare Subsidy Calculator

Use the following subsidy calculator to find out if you qualify for cost assistance now.

NOTE: The subsidy calculator below uses the currently available levels to give you an idea of subsidy amounts. It is updated each year to reflect the current accurate amounts so it is useful for both open enrollment and special enrollment.


  1. notice 2021-01969.