42 States Extended the ObamaCare Sign Up Deadline

December 15th, 2016 was the last day to enroll in coverage that started by January 1st, 2017, but 42 states have expanded the deadline to the 17th or 19th. Open enrollment 2017 ends January 31st, plans purchased after the December 15, 17, or deadline will start February 1st or later.

  • Colorado, District of Columbia, Idaho, Maryland, Minnesota, Vermont: Thursday December 15
  • Healthcare.gov states (Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming): Monday December 19
  • California, Connecticut, New York: Saturday December 17
  • Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Washington State: Friday December 23

SEE42 States Extend Deadline to Sign Up For Obamacare.

Author: Thomas DeMichele

Thomas DeMichele is the head writer and founder of ObamaCareFacts.com, FactsOnMedicare.com, and other websites. He has been in the health insurance and healthcare information field since 2012. ObamaCareFacts.com is a...

Leave a comment

We'll never share your email with anyone else.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

ObamaCareFacts is a free informational site. It's privately owned, and is not owned, operated, or endorsed by the US federal government or state governments. Our contributors have over a decade of experience writing about health insurance. However, we do not offer professional official legal, tax, or medical advice. See: Legal Information and Cookie Policy. For more on our company, learn About ObamaCareFacts.com or Contact us.