A coalition of Twenty state are suing the Federal Government to end the mandate to get coverage under the Affordable Care Act (ObamaCare). The mandate was repealed effective in 2019 under the GOP tax law. This conservative led coalition seeks to end the mandate early so people don’t get fined for not having healthcare in 2018.[cite]Twenty states sue federal government, seeking end to Obamacare. Reuters.com.[/cite]

In general there was some confusion, since many in the GOP and Trump declared ObamaCare repealed, but in reality it was not repealed and even the mandate doesn’t end until 2019.

Learn more about the lawsuit from Reuters, learn more about the confusion over the mandate.

NOTE: Although the suit on paper simply seeks to end the mandate early, the side effect of the suit is that it could make many of the ACA’s provisions illegal. One such provision being the pre-existing conditions protections.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Jim Comrada on

I heard countless politicians this morning on the news say they support pre-existing conditions. But 20 states sued to repeal Obamacare in February.

Please provide me a list of these states.

Thank you!
Jim Comrada

ObamaCareFacts.com on

Will do, you can use your imagination though. It is “red states” with Republican attorney generals for the most part:

Other than Maine and Mississippi, all of the states in the suit are represented by GOP attorneys general. Other states include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and West Virginia. https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/20-states-sue-trump-administration-to-end-obamacare-after-mandate-repeal

UPDATE: Added the page: https://obamacarefacts.com/2018/10/24/list-of-states-suing-federal-government-over-obamacare/

abcde on

Texas and Wisconsin lead the lawsuit against Obamacare and are joined by Missouri and the attorneys general from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Carolina, South, Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and West Virginia, along with the governors of Maine and Mississippi.