List of States Suing Federal Government Over ObamaCare

Here is a list of states suing the federal government over ObamaCare. This lawsuit could result in many of the Affordable Care Act’s provisions, including pre-existing conditions protections, being illegal.[1]

As you can imagine the majority of the states suing are “red states.” In fact, other than Maine and Mississippi, all of the states in the suit are represented by GOP attorneys general.

A full list of states includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and West Virginia.

Although the lawsuit and legislation put forth in Congress aren’t exactly the same thing, this GOP-backed lawsuit does essentially fly in the face of the often touted claim that “Republicans want to protect pre-existing conditions.”

NOTE: Although the suit on paper simply seeks to end the mandate early, the side effect of the suit is that it could make many of the ACA’s provisions illegal. One such provision being the pre-existing conditions protections. Learn more about the lawsuit.

Article Citations
  1. 20 states sue Trump administration to end Obamacare after mandate repeal.

Author: Thomas DeMichele

Thomas DeMichele is the head writer and founder of,, and other websites. He has been in the health insurance and healthcare information field since 2012. is a...

Leave a comment

We'll never share your email with anyone else.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

ObamaCareFacts is a free informational site. It's privately owned, and is not owned, operated, or endorsed by the US federal government or state governments. Our contributors have over a decade of experience writing about health insurance. However, we do not offer professional official legal, tax, or medical advice. See: Legal Information and Cookie Policy. For more on our company, learn About or Contact us.